• Michelle Molina

Collective Impact Forum (Lessons Learned)

Updated: Nov 19, 2020


Link to video: https://youtu.be/oH9VdktC_Kk


The Collective Impact Conference just happened. This video is a synopsis of the lessons and themes I thought would be useful for nonprofit leadership (especially those interested in nonprofit capacity building and evaluation capacity building). During the conference experts talked about collective impact example initiatives and the importance of storytelling, equity, focusing on useful data, collective impact evaluation, participatory approaches, asset-based framing, and focusing on the future we want to build.


A little background, the collective impact definition (according to the collective impact forum) is a group of people brought together, in a structured way, to achieve social change. The collective impact model or collective impact framework includes a common agenda, shared measurement, mutually reinforcing activities, continuous communication, and a strong backbone. The collective impact convening is an opportunity for coalition partners, coalition leaders, nonprofit organizations, and / or funders to learn from each other. I’m part of a collective impact backbone organization and I attended to hear how other initiatives are using data.

Meaningful Data Guide - http://bit.ly/DataGuide1

Resources / People / Organizations I mentioned:

Penumbra Theatre - https://penumbratheatre.org/ - @PenumbraTheatre

Junious Williams - https://www.juniouswilliams.com/ - @JuniousWilliams

Nausheena Hussain, Reviving the Islamic Sisterhood for Empowerment - https://www.revivingsisterhood.org/nausheena-hussain - @RISEsisterhood

Living Cities - https://www.livingcities.org/ - @Living_Cities @crystalwxli

Child360 - https://child360.org/ - @Child_360

Becky Margiotta, Billions Institute - https://www.billionsinstitute.com/team/ - @beckykanis @billions_inst

Joelle Cook, FSG - https://www.fsg.org/people/joelle-cook - @FSGtweets

Trabian Shorters, BME Community - https://bmecommunity.org/ - @JoinBMe @BMeCommunity

Trista Harris, FutureGood - http://www.tristaharris.org/ - @TristaHarris

TWEET THIS VIDEO: https://ctt.ac/Ce3t7

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Decision-Making Model for Nonprofits

Having a clear decision-making process is important for nonprofits and coalitions. Employing good decision-making strategies will make sure that your organization or group can move forward when challe

Participatory Approach Tips for Nonprofits

Participatory approaches can be complex to implement. However, they are extremely beneficial for nonprofits, coalitions, and local communities (when done thoughtfully). This video will focus on provid

Participatory Approaches For Nonprofits

Participatory approaches are a great way to engage the community while planning or evaluating an initiative or project. Incorporating a participatory approach in your community development can be an i